Irish Ghosts Stories (Macmillan Collector's Library)

Author(s): David Stuart Davies


Designed to appeal to the book lover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautifully bound pocket-sized gift editions of much loved classic titles. Bound in real cloth, printed on high quality paper, and featuring ribbon markers and gilt edges, Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

Blend the wild and fevered Irish imagination with their wonderful facility for recounting a dark, compelling tale, add a dash of the supernatural, and you have a potent brew of spine-tingling tales. This anthology of the best ghost stories from Ireland and Irish writers includes contributions from such masters of the art of raising as Sheridan Le Fanu, Bram Stoker, Oscar Wilde, W. B. Yeats and Rosa Mulholland. Within the pages of this collection you will find strange accounts of haunted houses, death warnings from beyond the grave, and revengeful spirits, all guaranteed to stir the imagination and chill the blood.

Selected and introduced by David Stuart Davies.

Stories in this edition:
Sheridan Le Fanu
The Room in Le Dragon Volant
Madam Crowl's Ghost
Squire Toby's Will
The Child that went with the Fairies
An Account of Some Strange Disturbances in Aungier Street
Ghost Stories of Chapelizod
The Vision of Tom Chuff

W. B. Yeats
The Curse
Hanraham's Vision

Bram Stoker
The Judge's House
The Secret of the Growing Gold

Oscar Wilde
The Canterville Ghost

Mrs J. H. Riddell
The Old House in Vauxhall Walk
A Strange Christmas Game

Fitz-James O'Brien
What was It?
The Pot of Tulips

Thomas Crofton Croker
The Haunted Cellar

Jeremiah Curtin
St Martin's Eve

Daniel Corkery
The Eyes of the Dead

Rosa Mulholland
The Haunted Organist of Hurly Burly
The Ghost at the Rath


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A collection of tingling tales of poltergeists, supernatural experiences, haunted houses, death warnings and banshees

David Stuart Davies is an author, playwright and editor and is regarded as an authority on Sherlock Holmes. His fiction includes six novels featuring his wartime detective Johnny Hawke and six Sherlock Holmes novels - includingSherlock Holmes and the Devil's Promise (2014). He is a committee member of the Crime Writers' Association, editing their monthly publication, Red Herrings, and is a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund.

General Fields

  • : 9781509826612
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Collector's Library, The
  • : 0.31
  • : October 2016
  • : 158mm X 98mm X 26mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : December 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : David Stuart Davies
  • : Hardback
  • : New Edition
  • : English
  • : 823.08733089415
  • : 584